Winners of 25th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Announced

3 months ago 49

The winners of the 25th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize have been announced through the Asahi Shimbun newspaper on Wednesday. Nine nominees announced in February were chosen from volumes published last year with votes and recommendations from bookstore staff and manga officials. The awards ceremony will be held on June 3 at the Hamarikyuu Asahi Small Hall in Tsukiji, Tokyo, and at a reduced capacity due to the on-going COVID-19 pandemic.

Grand Prize: Land by Kazumi Yamashita
New Work Prize: Sousou no Frieren by Kanehito Yamada and Tsukasa Abe
Short Work Prize: Kieta Mama Tomo by Hiroko Nohara
Special Prize: Koyoharu Gotouge for the publication of Kimetsu no Yaiba and the resulting success of the series.

The Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize was established in 1997 and is an annual manga prize awarded to mangaka and their works that follow the Osamu Tezuka manga approach.

Source: Asahi Shimbun Digital, Comic Natalie

← Previous Year

Read Entire Article